Soup for a Year

11/02/2009

In which everything almost fell apart . . .

Filed under: David,Dinner — David @ 9:19 PM

. . . but Lynda emerged as a true hero who knows the meaning of a wedding vow.

You can probably recite the part of the vow I’m thinking of: “for better or for worse . . . ’til death do us part.” We pledged those words to each other 14 years ago (to her Dad, no less!). And, thankfully we’ve had few instances where we’ve truly tested the meaning. Maybe tonight, as part of this arbitrarily imposed challenge, we stretched the boundary a bit.

Let me explain.

The day has gone fine, for the most part. Breakfast and lunch were satisfying enough. During lunch we videoed some discussion of allowing a roll with soup–to most approval (though definitely NOT to Dean’s liking). Also, the Souperintendents clarified that noshing on ingredients while preparing homemade soup is not okay. But after lunch, Mike emailed the panel to get a ruling on the allowability of milkshakes.

Now, I immediately had a gut reaction of No! (Which I continue to believe.) Milkshake, while they are beverages–which, according to an earlier leniency for freedom of drink choices–might seem permissible to some, I feel are far more of a dessert luxury rather than a drink. Surprisingly, everyone was okay with allowing milkshakes under the definition of “drink.”

I didn’t like that but didn’t make much of a fuss. But I realized we were arguing over stupid things in a pointless, made-up challenge with no larger goal. Thereby disillusioned, I went home to find Lynda making a delicious meal of sausage, onions, potatoes, and corn. She had not remembered that I was eating soup and was immediately worried about excessive leftovers. I, in turn, was upset enough about the milkshake decision and overwhelmed with ennui, to just give up (on day 1!!) and eat my regular dinner.

But here is where Lynda’s love for me (in the face of idiocy) shone through and her heroism asserted itself. Seeing how bothered I was by the idea of throwing in the towel at the starting line, she put all of the ingredients of everyone’s meal into a bullion broth . . . and I can claim to make it to another dawn.

And best of all, it tasted really good! And there were leftovers that I quickly converted into another serving of soup for another day. So, maybe things aren’t as dire as I think?

But it is only the first day, I realize. And I’m am going to have to find a way to make it meaningful to me and–I hope–make it meaningful to others. Mike and I were briefly discussing it this morning, and maybe we can turn our soup-eating into a charity effort to get cans of soup donated to local soup kitchens? I welcome any and all suggestions on how to make our little game be a force for good. Because, otherwise, it’s just goofy people doing goofy stuff.

Still, I thank you for paying attention the last few days and I hope we can devise something here that you can find some entertainment in. It’s a work in progress.

Soup for a Year: Dinner 1: Brie Eats Lobster Bisque: It’s Complicated

Filed under: Brie,Conditions,Dinner,Make Brie some soup — Brieanna @ 8:31 PM

This is my first post! I guess I should state my feelings about this whole ridiculous endeavor. I didn’t think that was going to be that hard, but I can already tell I was wrong. This morning instead of having eggs and some sort of breakfast potato, I had a bottle of V8 and a can of Sprite. Healthy! Then for lunch I had a bowl of French onion soup from the cafeteria at work. That was ok, but I did not feel satisfied. Now, a post about my dinner. Be warned: the quality is terrible. I don’t have fancy recording equipment like David and Mike do, so I took this video with my Blackberry.

Hmmm, well it turns out I don’t know how to put this video on the blog. Something about it not meeting security guidelines or something. Oh well. Anyway, I had a bowl of lobster bisque and a glass of Riesling. It was quite good, actually. Also, I did eat my dinner to the Rocky theme song because when I say I’ll do something, I do it. I am a woman of principle. I just hope Mike is a man of principle because I am going to eat soup longer than him, and I expect my demands to be met!

Update: I think I figured out how to add a video. Please to enjoy Soup For a Year: Dinner 1: Brie Eats Lobster Bisque: It’s Complicated.

Oh, one more thing. If anyone wants to make me soup, I would appreciate it. I’m not what you call a “good cook.” I don’t “like to make things” or “make things that taste good.” Well, unless what I’m making is either lobster, mac and cheese from a box, or spinach dip. Erica Kendall Pastorell Pastorelli Pastorelle already said she would make some soup for me and so did Dean, so let’s have some more offers you guys!

Lunch 11.02.09

Filed under: David,Lunch — David @ 2:28 PM

Here is my lunch for the day. I decided to eat the French Onion & the Cream of Asparagus.

Meanwhile everyone is arguing over everything. Dean has quit the panel over the inclusion of rolls.

This might get ugly before it’s over.

The breakfast of champions

Filed under: Breakfast,David — David @ 6:53 AM

Goooooood morning soup fans!

Are you ready? Because I’ve got Chicken n’ Dumplins warming up right now as I speak. Jealous?

I do need to find something that is a bit more “breakfasty.” And to make some of my own. But I had a busy weekend eating candy–because I won’t be eating anything like that for a while into the future.

By the way. I start this with a weight of 163.5 pounds.

See you later.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.