Soup for a Year

11/12/2009

Theory

Filed under: David — David @ 8:54 PM

I had a bowl of Mike’s butternut squash soup tonight for my dinner and I was very good. (Thanks Mike!)

You know, while I may find it hard to explain what this S365 thing is all about–and I feel vaguely foolish in the attempt to describe it–I should think of moments like tonight when I voluntarily ate a good bowl of homemade butternut squash soup. Without S365, I would not have been doing that. Heck, I’m not even a huge fan of squash and I normally NEVER eat a meal as healthy as that one was–and I think I have a pretty balanced and rational diet.

So, I am happy with my dietary choices. And that should be that.

Speaking of choices, I am finding that I am adjusting well to the changed diet. My longings and cravings are not as bad as they were last week and I am definitely finding that my psychological expectations of food are adjusting as well. (As I write that it sounds vaguely disturbing, like my stomach is undergoing some sort of hostage brainwashing or Stockholm Situation.) But what I mean to say is that my hunger pangs are more manageable now.

The biggest challenges coming up are food-rich holidays (i.e. Thanksgiving, Christmas, and the looming temptation that is my departmental Gluttonfest food extravaganza . . . which I normally organize!). But, I’ll get there. Will anyone be getting there with me?

If I may speak for Mike and Brie for a moment–and in the absence, I will–they have been wavering hard this week. I was hoping that the injection of charitable intentions (and the generous public pledges of some of you S365 fans) would galvanize them into a more dedicated stance. But it seems to me that they are simply waiting for the other one to fall, so that they can fall soon after. (Remember that they have side bets–really the only “stakes” in play here–with each other. See one of the earliest posts.)

Everyone seems to think I’ll stick it out longer than they will, and maybe “everyone” is right. It certainly helps me that my wife is supportive of what I’m doing. But, if M & B drop out . . . do I keep going? I would like to, but for how long–especially if I have nothing at stake to keep me in it for the duration. So, I hope Mike and Brie don’t quit, not the least of which is because their contributions to the blog are always entertaining and provide much more interesting angles on all of this than I.

*****

One of my work friends presented her theory as to why I am handling this so well and while I want her to present it in its entirety here on S365, I’ll try to give you a brief overview of it.

She argues that this contest gives me control over something–a thing I lack in the rest of my life. She says that because I’m married, parenting three kids, occupied with a stressful job, busy with church responsibilities, blogging on all sorts of things . . . I am at the mercy of so many other things that I need this to give myself power and agency. (She has a much better way of laying it out.)

I don’t know if that is really what is going on. Maybe my subconscious agrees, but I don’t feel powerless and in need of control. I’ll have to dream on it some more and I’ll fill you in later.

But what about you? What is your opinion on Mike, Brie, and I? Sound off!

1 Comment »

  1. So it’s all over. Sigh. Somehow, “Soup for 15 days or so” just doesn’t have the same ring to it. . . .

    Comment by Heather — 11/19/2009 @ 7:31 PM | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

